Part of the Tayport Jetty.Taken at Tayport Fife Scotland, this old lighthouse is shown as the Larick Beacon on the Admiralty chart of the Tay. It’s also known as the Pile Lighthouse. This is one of only a few surviving pile lighthouses in the U.K. It is located about 500 meters northeast of the Tayport waterfront. It was built around 1845 but has been inactive since about 1960. It closely resembles the temporary barracks built in the North Sea by Robert Stevenson (grandfather of author Robert Louis Stevenson) for the men who worked on the Bell Rock lighthouse.
This 15th century coastal fort has faced many battles and sieges, and was rebuilt in the 19th century as part of the River Tay's coastal defence system.
It now houses a fascinating museum featuring displays on the life and times of Broughty Ferry, its people, the environment and the wildlife that lives close by.
The Tay Road Bridge serving Dundee and the East Coast of Scotland